Winter Offers!

Get 15% discount on accommodation only, when your stay is between Sunday and Thursday, and between November and March(excluding school holidays).
Email or ring Martin for details. Other offers available here.

Chinese New Year

19th February 2015 Discounted Rooms for this night - See Offers Page - conditions apply. Email or ring Martin for details.

Holiday cottage

Recently totally refurbished. One bed en suite self catering cottage with patio area, full use of facilities in Ty Gwyn Hotel (Breakfast, Bar meals, Restaurant, etc) reservations essential. Details here. Email or ring Martin to book.
Wireless Internet available.
Corporate Booking Rates Available - Email or ring Martin for details.

What our customers say about their stay with us.

“Just returned from two nights at the Ty Gwyn, brilliant food and a superb pleasant team working there. Food was amazing, huge menu with something for everyone. Steaks were particularly good. Thanks to Martin and his team. ”

JMJ65, March 2014

“My wife and I were really looking forward to our evening as having children we don't get to go out much.the food was fantastic plenty of choice we both chose steak for our main course and they were cooked perfectly and they are not skimpy with their portions.the staff were very attentive and helpful. overall we had a perfect evening and will definitely go again when we can get a babysitter. ”

Lee M, February 2014

“Stayed three nights end of October; dined once in restaurant, twice in bar which was much better. Food was excellent, so much choice, even for me a veggie!!!!! Both very busy, always need to book in advance for dining. Tariffs for rooms are very reasonable... ”

Glenysl, January 2014

“When we visit Betws y coed we always call in the Ty Gwyn for a meal .As always we were not dissapointed.Food was of a very high standard and served with a smile.All staff very friendly, couldnt ask for more ”

MrBusy, December 2013

“Really oldie worldly nooks & crannies, full of character and charm. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Cold beer and excellent food. Room wasn't particularly decorated to my taste and when I sat on the bed thought OH this wasn't going to be good. However how surprised I was as I had one of the best nights sleep ever feeling very cozy and happy. Lovely setting great breakfast ”

Simon W, November 2013

“Stopped here for a meal and I absolutely fell in love with this place! Full of character and the decor was amazing, The staff were excellent, very friendly and attentive, the food was delicious, but for me it was the the layout and the quaint, quirky way it has been furnished. I want to move in and live there! ”

Ann Marie, November 2013

“Having dined in 6 different establishments this year which all boast Michelin stars, this place comes first in my opinion every time. My second visit proved even better than the last.. Just when you think perfection couldn't get any better. The food is outstanding here and quite frankly the prices are baffling. I'm puzzled over how head chef and owner Martin breaks even with such cheap prices for such hearty delicious meals. Confit of duck and lamb filet for starters were things of beauty and could have easily been main courses. Perfectly executed with love and care, like a cuddle on a cold day.. Next we went for the recommended Seabass, caught fresh that morning. This could have easily been filleted to create several dishes but not here, you get all of it to yourself. Wonderful, moist, tastebud pleasing grub and the pork belly, well, words don't do it justice. If you think the food is all this place is about then your wrong. Beautiful wine list, perfect cosy setting, great service and cosy, inviting rooms which house four poster beds and jacuzzis. I just love this place and will be back again and again. GO. ”

Charlotte, November 2013

“Wonderful, the warm cosy atmosphere, the friendly helpful staff, all lead to a most enjoyable stay. This was our 16th stay and have loved every one of them. We have stayed in several rooms over the years, this year we had room 9b, plenty of space, a spa bath and a four poster bed, very cosy. The food is excellent, we have never had a bad meal, so we eat in at the Ty Gwyn every evening we are there. Thank you to everyone at the Ty Gwyn, we'll be back next year. ”

Marathon Man 186, October 2013

“My husband and I stayed at the Ty Gwyn last weekend. Martin and his wife are very welcoming. The food was fab and room was lovely. Even if you were in the area I would advise a booking in the restaurant in advance as it is really popular. ”

PRS165, September 2013

“We returned to Ty Gwyn for a weekend break having been many times before. It is a lovely hotel that is full of character, as you would expect with such an old building. The bedrooms are very nice and comfortable. As usual, the food was fantastic with a large selection of local seasonal produce. The staff are always very friendly and helpful. ”

StephenP, September 2013

“We stayed one night at short notice due to poor weather ruining camping plans and staff couldn't have been more friendly or accomodating. The room and bathroom was immaculate and nicely restored without ruining the 16th century charm. The food was delicious and ample, as was the wine selection. We highly recommend this place for both food and accommodation, especially given the reasonable pricing. ”

taffyemmie, August 2013

“The chef knows how to make a meat lover extremely happy "Ty Gwyn Tower Block: Extra Mature Welsh Fillet Steak, Black Pudding, Salami, Topped with Mature Cheddar Gratin, Garlic Crouton, Pepper Sauce" It sounds scary but it was truly fantastic as was the suckling pig. My Scallop starter was like the worlds most bad*ss fish pie and the whitebait was the best I've ever had. I would have loved to have sampled the desserts but after sinking a few pints of Reverend James i had reached bursting point. If they hadn't have been so busy i might have attempted to kidnap the chef and whisk him away to work in my own restaurant. Absolutely marvellous and certainly gave me enough fuel to conquer a few peaks the next day. Next time I'm in Wales I'll stay in the hotel as it's one of the nicest old buildings I have ever set foot in. ”

Elwood367, August 2013

“Ty Gwyn Hotel was exactly as described and we weren't disappointed. We stayed in room 1 which was lovely and perfect for the 2 of us - room 1 is not en suite but has a gorgeous and spacious private bathroom just down the corridor. Breakfast each morning was brilliant and the staff were extremely flexible when catering to our needs. All the staff that we encountered were absolutely wonderful and couldn't have been more accommodating. We ate in the restaurant on our last evening in Snowdonia, the food was beautiful and well worth booking the table in advance. ”

Kyli W, August 2013

“Ty Gwyn is a gorgeous 16th century coaching inn that has retained all it's quirky character and charm. The bar area and lounge in particular are lovely. The manager and staff were all very friendly and could not do enough to help us enjoy our stay. Excellent breakfast cooked fresh with locally sourced produce. ”

Marcia Brown, July 2013

“We stayed in rooms 6 and 7 my self my partner and elderly mother in law , The rooms were very clean and cozy food was fantastic both evening meal and breakfast , we booked for 2 nights but loved it so much we stayed for 3 , helpful and friendly staff , we will be going back very soon Thank you Ty Gwyn . ”

SugarRing, June 2013

“Everything was perfect! We stayed here for two nights, we stayed in room 9b, we will be back. The hotel was beautiful and very clean. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was exceptional, breakfast was more of the same. Thanks for a lovely stay. ”

Florida4eva, June 2013

“Myself and my husband have just arrived back from a wonderful 3 night stay at Ty Gwyn. The place itself is stunning. Our room was perfect and very clean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we felt very at home. The food is superb - I mean really superb! Honestly cannot fault it. Will definitely visit again. :-). ”

Wibbles32, May 2013

“We just stayed for one night at this Inn, wish it had been more. I had checked the reviews for Ty Gwyn and they were almost too good to be true, i shouldn't have worried, they were spot on. From the moment we arrived the staff were really helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely atmosphere and ambiance, great host and the food was to die for, we are already thinking about our next visit, the only tricky decision is what to have next off the menu ”

DroitwichWorcester, April 2013

“Have just spent a long weekend at this homely, slightly creaky and unusually charming hotel. The rooms are cottagey and cosy, filled with antiquey/shabby chic furniture. The menu is interesting and extensive and the meals themselves are delicious - the fact that the restaurant was always full is witness to the quality of the meals. The staff were always helpful and friendly. All the ingredients for a very enjoyable and memorable stay in a simply stunning part of Wales. ”

Ann R, April 2013

“Ty Gwyn is a superb coaching house just down the road from quaint Betws-y-coed. Been here on and off for the past five years or so and can honestly say it's my favourite getaway treat! Beautiful rooms that have been restored and styled in a kind of cottagey,antique,French manner. Really nice staff who are attentive,although always very busy,so be patient. We usually eat here as well but you're better to book your table at the same time as your room as they have an excellent reputation for quality and so get booked up quickly. Honestly can't fault the place.Outstanding. ”

John D, March 2013

“Stayed for 3 nights in this lovely coaching Inn, the staff and service were great, everyone made you feel welcome. The food in the restaurant/bar was excellent plenty of choice and good size portions, 'it was so good we ate there every night'. If your planning a trip to this area, dont leave without a visit to this delightful Inn you won't be disapointed! ”

Rwillcardiff, February 2013

“We stayed at Ty Gwyn last week for one night and we loved our time there. The room (9b) was warm and cosey and was true to the pictures we had viewed on the website. We had a four poster bed which was comfortable and the bathroom was lovely and had both a spa bath & shower. Tea & coffee facilities were available in the room. Breakfast was very much enjoyed due to the choice of menu - you would not go hungry here at breakfast time. The staff were friendly and attentative from the time we arrived until checking out time. Would stay here again and recommend it to anyone. ”

Bernadette E., February 2013

“Stayed at Ty Gwyn last week, excellent hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely quirky 300 year old inn. Made a nice change from from the bright lights of modern hotels. Restaurant was great, good choice of food and portions were plentiful. Snowdonia in the snow absolutely glorious. Will be going back there and definitely be booking into the Ty Gwyn. ”

Mr Terry 10, January 2013

“Do not miss this one!! the whole experience of the TY Gwyn is exceptional, the rooms are all nicely decorated and spotlessly clean, the food exquisite, highly recommended!! have stayed here several times and have never been disappointed, have tried most of the menu and cant recommend the steak tower enough!!! will continue to stay here when in area! as the food just wonderful, staff very helpful and friendly ”

MirrorsMisty, December 2012

“We have just arrived home after staying in the Ty Gwyn hotel in Betws y Coed we found the whole experince faultless; the rooms are very nicely presented the four poster bed was very comfy, the food in the resturant was outstanding; i had the scallop st jaques for starters - best scallops i have ever had. My wife tried the homemade burger which again was excellent. The owner Martin could not be more a welcoming, fantastic host. All in all a great place to eat, drink and be merry. We will return and recommend this hotel. ”

Enya A, November 2012

“ We decided to eat at the Ty Gwyn this evening after calling to check it was ok to bring our children. We reserved a table and it was ready and waiting for us on arrival. Our girls are seven and ten and they were met with a children's menu that had a wide choice rather than the obvious choices and our oldest was able to opt for steak which she loved. Our meals were beautiful and my main meal chicken and king prawn in a type of lime sauce was outstanding -my compliments to the chef. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us and brought things to the table before we even had chance to ask, they thought of everything, not to mention the fact that they were polite and so friendly. They even went as far as making something as a starter and a desert to accommodate the children that didn't show on the menu. I use trip advisor a lot to find out where to go but never take the time to write a review - which is naughty I know - but the food, atmosphere and evening was sooooooo wonderful I felt it important to contribute my comments. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a meal out and will be back next time we are back at half term. I am only disappointed that we wasted our time even bothering to go anywhere else during our stay in the area. We had a wonderful evening and had great food in a great place. Thank you Ty Gwyn ”

Emma Wilkes, October 2012

“After many an endless night of searching for b&b's in betws-y-coed my girlfriend and I came across the old coaching Inn, I would have to say that this is probably the best B&B accommadation we have ever stayed in! we stayed in room 6 which was finished in a lovely subtle purple decor and was impecibaly clean! as my girlfriend has a lot of allergies the staff at the ty gwyn catered for her in everyway, she would describe the breakfast in the morning as THE BEST she has ever had! we reserved a table on saturday night in the resteraunt which again stood up to all expectations, the food really was FIRST CLASS and in my opinion this hotel needs an extra star!!! This is by far the best place to stay in betws-y-coed if you are looking for a romantic getaway in the wilderness! We loved it and would like to say thanks to all who catered for us!!! ”

Dave Bold, October 2012

“Stayed locally. This was recommended as a good place to eat - we ended up eating here for the 3 nights of our stay. The food was fabulous - meat dishes as well as vegetarian were excellent. Generous portions and don't miss out on the puddings. Yum! Big thanks to Martin and his team. Thoroughly recommended. ”

Rob and Tina B, October 2012

“Hi, we have just returned from staying overnight at this hotel. The room we stayed in - 9b was the prettiest, most romantic room I have ever stayed in ! All the staff were lovely and the food in the restaurant was fabulous. I cant wait to go back !! ”

Sandra O, Liverpool, October 2012

“Once more we stayed here for our annual Snowdon expedition, and had a great stay. The rooms are excellent value for money which will leave you with plenty to spend in the superb restaurant. This is the highlight of the stay with candlelit cosy dining areas with antique furniture adding to a great atmosphere. This is no designer pub made to look quaint, it's the real deal! We found all the staff friendly and helpfull, we look forward to future visits. ”

Harry Steele, Stourbridge, September 2012

“ A real character hotel. All very clean, friendly and helpful staff made our stay in this somwhat quirky hotel one of the best we have ever had. The food is wonderful. The only tricky bit is choosing from an extensive and varied menu. Thankfully the food isn't art farty with dribbles of this and that making pretty patterns, no this is fresh, tasty food well presented and lots of it. Service was great. The restaurant was delightfully different and added to the experience. All in all an excellent stay and great value too. We have already booked our return visit that says it all.”

Gareth B, Southhampton, September 2012

“Great Place. I stayed here again at the weekend, and the food and srvice was better than most 5 star hotels! a true welsh gem, highly recommended! I have stayed many times at this place, and it just gets better all the time. The menu is really creative and the quality of the fish is great! ”

Richardo Patrick, August 2012

“ We only stayed one night and wished it had been longer. We were warmly welcomed on arrival at this historic coaching inn. The decor and surroundings were comfortable and our en suite bedroom contained a four poster bed, along with a modern bathroom, tv and tea/coffee making facilities. We booked a table for dinner (which was required because meals at this hotel are very popular). The menu was large and very varied, the food and service were excellent and could not be faulted. After a comfortable night's sleep the breakfast menu was again large and varied, and the food superb.”

Mike W, Isle of Man, August 2012

“Superb Find.My wife & I were on holiday near Llandudno with my brother in law & his wife, they had visited this restraurant 20 years ago and wondered if it was still as good? The service and food is some of the best I have had in a long long time, if you are in the area make this a must, you will not be disappointed. ”

Stanley H, July 2012

“Step Back in Time. Wow! 400 year old Coaching Inn on the edge of Betwys-y-Coed, in Snowdonia, Wales. This place is a rabbit warren, full of history, & with the most beautiful meals we've ever enjoyed. Only a half hour from the coast [Llandudno], & a half hour from Mt. Snowdon this is the perfect location for a base to explore North Wales. The hotel is a step back in time with a 16th century decor & furnishings, with an amazing intimacy, & any degree of socialising or privacy as required. A well stocked bar, dining to die for & spacious rooms, its got everything a traveller could possibly want. ”

Alan Gelder, June 2012

“Delightful Hotel, wonderful place. We stayed here for five nights in June and ate here four evenings and received a warm welcome from all the staff who were helpful and courteous. The hotel is exquisite: full of character and with the beams, fireplaces and relaxed atmosphere it still has the feel of the coaching inn it once was. The food is absolutely superb and what a joy to have breakfast cooked to order. Our room was comfortable and clean. We would go back again and cannot recommend it enough. Enjoy! ”

Dee F, June 2012

“Excellent hotel and Resturant. This is an exceptional coaching inn and restaurant. The service was truly outstanding. The food in the restaurant is 5star quality. So happy to have found Ty Gwyn. ”

Yusef H, May 2012

“Just got back from spending 5 nights in this hotel. We took the dogs so were accommodated in the little cottage adjacent to the hotel itself. It was lovely and private with great views from each window. The hotel restaurant was amazing. Huge choice of dishes (even for us veggies) really professionally developed and presented. Really friendly service as this is a family business, and all staff were helpful and efficient. Highly recommend this venue! ”

Fran F, May 2012

“Stunning and Full of Character. Impeccable, we travel a lot and this is one of the best places we've ever stayed. The ideal countryside retreat if you're looking to get away from it all. The inn has so much character and a superb restaurant and cosy bar area. Think open fires, low beamed ceilings and candlelight. It's a very romantic setting. Our room 9b surpassed all our expectations, it was decorated beautifully. The service was wonderful and the location ideal for exploring Snowdonia. We couldn't recommend it enough”

Edie B, March 2012

“ Best hotel we have ever stayed in and what's more the food was high quality restaurant standard. We are very fussy eaters who eat out a lot and would have been more than happy to come here just to eat -- if we lived nearby we would be frequenting the restaurant all the time. Best asparagus, carrots and salad we have eaten and all home grown. The portions are very generous -- TWO amazing kippers each for breakfast. They also know how to source their wine. Staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful and our room was sumptuous and clean. We much prefer small family run places to large corporate hotels, and the Ty Gwyn hits all the buttons for cosy, informal and quality.”

Angela C, March 2012

“My girlfriend and I had a most enjoyable stay at the Ty Gwyn. We hadn't been to this part of the world before and didn't know what to expect. However, we were given a good welcome and shown to our room very quickly, in fact much earlier than advertised. Nothing seemed to too much trouble for the young staff. We had booked room 14 online before we arrived and discovered it was just as we expected. The bonus for us was that it was tucked away at one end of the delightful and full of character coaching inn. This made it all the more private for us and we adored the little sitting room area with comfortable sofa. Dinner was just right and at a reasonable price with excellent service. Breakfast was extremely generous and prompt. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, particularly if you are a couple looking for a romantic getaway in a beautiful part of Wales and wish to be slightly off from the main hub of Betws-y-coed. Within its price bracket it was excellent value, obviously its not a corporate style experience and for me that was its charm. ”

Richard Vorbes, January 2012

“We have just spent our honeymoon at Ty Gwyn. Betws y Coed is our favourite place for day trips so decided that 3 nights at this beautiful old coaching inn would be perfect & we weren't disappointed. Room 9b was cosy & romantic with a four poster & spa bath. The food was a gastronomic delight. We had a fantastic 6 course meal & fireworks on New Years Eve. The staff were very friendly & welcoming. The overall atmosphere is one of cosy, warm relaxation. We will definitely be booking again & can't recommend this beautiful place enough. Big thank you to Martin & all the staff. ”

Becci W, December 2011

“We stayed at the Ty Gwyn Inn just last night the 1st December, I had been looking for a rustic style Inn for a couple of days and for some reason this place caught my eye, we had only decided to book with them in the morning of our trip, booking was easy and they gave us the four poster bed suite at a reduce rate room 9b. From the moment we got their we felt at home and the room was charming better than we could wish for, comfy bed warm and cosy, with a stylish bathroom ideal for after a long walk. The food was also excellent, nice menu something for everyone, I like to cook myself and cannot fault the food quality, service was also extremely good. We will definitely be going back, this is our place to escape and relax and enjoy a nice friendly Inn. ”

James C Munn, December 2011

“Firstly congratulations to this amazing place for winning an award recently! it is well overdue!I have visited the Restaurant and hotel many times and i find the food utterly amazing, and creative. Also the staff are amazing and the cleanness of the rooms and service. A true welsh gem!! ”

Richardo Patrick, November 2011

“Fabulous Weekend Retreat. This place has it all. Very quaint and cosy. First time I stayed I came back the week after! Great location, perfect for walking snow den! Rooms were very clean and comfortable and full of character. As for the food, great wholesome, home cooked food, and very generous portions. Can highly recommend the shoulder of lamb and the kippers for breakfast were amazing. I don't think you can go far wrong with this place. Very friendly attentive staff. A place I will definitely be returning to! ”

Chikibeach, Manchester, October 2011

“We can't recommend the hotel highly enough, we were very well looked after by each and every member of staff, the room was lovely individual and quirky, yet still well appointed, very clean and had everything we needed (including a jacuzzi bath). Breakfast was generous cereals, fruit, yoghurt and a variety of cooked breakfasts to choose from ( I can recommend the American - but the other half recommends the full breakfast) and better still it was all cooked fresh which was a lovely change from the buffet breakfasts that are normally on offer. We stayed four nights and ate in the restaurant for three of them - it's not expensive, the portions were generous ( especially the shoulder of lamb) and every meal we ate was beautifully cooked. In a nutshell we have no hesitation in recommending you visit Ty Gwyn - we're definitely returning and next time we're taking all the family!! ”

Cheryl D, September 2011

“ We stayed here for two nights during our all-too-brief sojourn in beautiful Wales, and we're so glad we did. Everything about this inn met my imagined image of a classic old English inn -- which isn't surprising, since it has actually been around since the 16th centurty, when it was a coaching inn on the route from London to ports on the Irish Sea from whence one would ferry to Ireland! Incredibly romantic -- and yet comfortable enough for the 21st century. As an added advantage, the evening dinners were excellent -- far above average in quality, and not overpriced. In addition, the service was excellent. The individual who greeted us on our arrival was incredibly helpful throughout our stay. Highest possible recommendation.”

Rick, August 2011

“ A cosy, friendly inn with quite remarkable food. This old coaching inn is right on the main road through Betws-y-Coed, but that shouldn't worry you: at night it is very peaceful. The hotel has creaky steep staircases and idiosyncratic but more than serviceable bedrooms. But you will receive a very warm welcome from Martin and his family/team. I stayed for a weekend with some American friends who, it turned out, were terrified at the prospect of British cooking: they shouldn't have been, as the largely local fare was so superbly cooked that they and I ate every last morsel. We stayed three nights and had no wish to eat anywhere else. The ambience of the bar and restaurant were absolutely as olde-worlde as required. Other establishments in the town that we visited for a drink had nothing like the atmosphere. Computer that you can use, and free wifi. You can (we did) walk up into the hills very easily -- there is a wonderful 2hr (return) walk up to Llyn Elsi with fantastic views of the mountains and the region. Beware the huge outdoor clothing shop, though -- you can spend a fortune.”

Ellis W, July 2011

“ The staff were very helpful and always smiling. the rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels provided. the location was prefect for many of the tourist attractions in the area. the food was wonderful. free parking at the hotel. would love to come back again . thank you from three very happy friends.”

Dave,Tony and Scott, June 2011

“ Quirky old coaching inn, in a fantastic location for Snowdon etc. Lots of character and old school charm, food was absolutely outstanding and deserves a visit just for that. Service great and was the best nights sleep all trip. Will be returning.”

Jodie Wild, May 2011

“Top Quality Accomodation in Snowdonia. My girlfriend and I spent a couple of hours scanning through the net to find some genuinely good accommodation that was comfortable and laid back- to relax in after traipsing around the mountains. The Ty Gwyn Hotel suited our needs perfectly. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left we didn't have worry about a thing. On the first day we dumped all our outdoor gear in our room, had a drink in the bar and then tucked into a feast. The food is really good. There is a wide range to choose from, cooked with real talent and nice big portions. I agree that often a large menu can sometimes indicate a lack of focus in the kitchen but this isn't the case here. There were at least 20-30 people eating every night we were there and it was very popular with the locals with Welsh and English voices blending into each other over the tables. Our room was very comfortable and clean and the bed gave me a great night’s sleep. I was a bit hesitant at first because of the flowery decor in the pictures but it was fine once we were there. Breakfast was brilliant. About five choices of cooked breakfast, all done very well with tasty ingredients and served quickly without fuss. Cereals, tea and coffee were also in abundance. Nosh it down and get those boots on, or sit and read the paper and have another coffee- it's your choice. One of my favourite things about the Ty Gwyn was getting back in the afternoon and going for a beer on the deck at the back. We didn't think it had an outside initially but you can take your drinks from the bar and sit in the sun on a deck above the hotel on the valley wall. It's not much to look at but it has a great view and if you like having an afternoon beer in the sun as much as we do you will love it. Also it was a good place to socialise with the other guests, everyone was very friendly and we exchanged many a story over a San Miguel up on that deck. We paid for everything on one bill at the end of four nights. Despite eating some of the more expensive dinners on the menu it was a lot less that we thought it would be. We got in the car and left Wales feeling very happy after staying here and i'm sure most other cool people would too ;) ”

Bribbins, March 2011

“A luxury authentic Coach house, fabulous food, great staff and amazing decor. The owner and staff work incredibly hard making your stay unique and special. The Coach house is beautifully placed. We stayed in their cottage at the back of the Coach house which has recently been renovated to a very high standard. The cottage was warm and clean. We have stayed in the rooms previously and recommend the rooms with the luxurious jacuzzi bathrooms. We are just planning to hopefully return in the new year and recommend the lamb in the fab restaurant. Thanks again to the wonderful and professional staff in making our stay memorable. ”

Merrinda, December 2010

“ We thoughly enjoyed our latest stay, which is the 14th. The hotel has a homely and friendly atmosphere, the staff are always attentive and curtious making one feel at ease. The menu caters for all tastes and is cooked to perfection. The room we stay is en-suite with a spa bath, luxury after a long day in the mountains, running a marathon or sight seeing. The bed is a half tester very comfortable and warm. The hotel is in the Snowdonia region being central to all the North Wales attractions, the mountains, narrow gauge steam railways, slate mines, copper mines and all the beautiful villages in Snowdonia Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple”

Marathonman186390, November 2010

“ Ty Gwyn (White House) is located in a deep valley next to a raging river with water falls a mile upstream. It has an ancient structure with low, beamed ceilings, tiny corridoors and squeeky floors. The charm of the place far outweighs the irritation of every step you take being accompanied by noises from the floor below. The staff are totally focussed on providing service and nothing is too much trouble for them. A great welcome with check-in taking about 30 seconds and then shown to the room. The restaurant must be booked in advance as this is clearly the most popular place in town. The menu was full of high quality local specialities and portions were HUGE. The shoulder of lamb is legendary and appears to be almost half of the animal when it arrives on your table. Back home this would feed a family of six! ”

bertybign, September 2010

“ Sorry I didn’t log this review sooner, especially as I’ve been telling everyone at home what a wonderful place we stayed in some weeks ago (end of April 2010) in North Wales – the Ty Gwyn Hotel. We couldn’t have opted for a better place to stay, in Betws-y-Coed, or possibly anywhere! Superb location, on the very edge of the village, just over the wonderfully picturesque Waterloo Bridge.
Ty Gwyn is a quaint, 16th century coaching house, full of history and objects of historical interest. It is well cared for and much pride is obviously taken in its upkeep and appearance. The owners and staff of Ty Gwyn were very friendly, welcoming, enthusiastic and dedicated to excellence.
The rooms were spotless and tastefully decorated; the twin room we had is ensuite, very comfortable and although it is not spacious, which in fact adds to its charm, it had everything we needed; we spent two very comfortable nights there.
Regarding meals: There was plenty of choice for breakfast and I’m so glad we had booked for dinner both evenings – Ty Gwyn is a very popular eating place and having sampled the fare on the first evening we understood why. The food was wonderful, the service excellent, the ambience relaxed and cosy - we felt that eating anywhere else on our last evening would carry a real risk of disappointment.
Should I have the good fortune to visit North Wales again, Ty Gwyn would be my first choice of accommodation. ”

HopefulTraveller53, Northern Ireland, 30th June 2010

“ The Ty-Gwyn is a small, family run hotel full of 'olde worlde' charm. The restaurant is excellent and very reasonably priced given the quality of the food. I Talked with an American family who were on the last day of a tour around Wales and they commented that their meal at the Ty-Gwyn was the best of their entire holiday. I would heartily recommend the Ty-Gywn to all. ”

Jimk100, Merseyside, 15th June 2010

“ I stayed for one night with my wife and some of my family. We all found our stay at the Ty Gwyn to be a very pleasurable experience. The hotel has a relaxing and welcoming feel to it as soon as you walk through the door. It is apparent that all the rooms are individually designed and furnished. Probably the biggest asset though, in my opinion, is the superb cuisine based on locally sourced produce. My particular favourite was a starter of julienne strips of marinated Thai beef. Exquisite!! The portions are very generous and the shoulder of Welsh lamb could barely fit on the plate! We will definitely be back and my wife has recommended the hotel to several of her colleagues. ”

DavidFWarrington, Warrington, 24th May 2010

“ My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in this gorgeous hotel and enjoyed every minute of it.The staff couldn't have been more friendly and nothing was too much trouble.The food was excellent,we ate in the hotel for the 2 evenings we were there and the standard and presentation was very good indeed but if you want to eat there during your stay then I would advise booking your table at the same time as your reservation as you will not get a table it is that busy. We stayed in room 9a with a four poster bed and had a single there too ! This hotel was number one in Detws y Coed which is thoroughly deserved and we would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the area ”

DaitheSpy, Wales, April 30th 2010

“Excellent value, rooms all different but all comfortable. As far as food is concerned a lot of it was sourced locally. Well presented , beautifully cooked and generous helpings. Staff friendly and efficient . A lovely place and we will return!”

Swinbod, Norwich, Mar 31st 2010

“Well i must say, i have stayed at this hotel for the past 4 years at least 9 times, and it just gets better! The rooms have all recently been refurnished, and they are delightful. The food is amazing, and extremely creative! With amazing fish dishes, an excellent wine selection. Its very traditional, but what amazing me is , that i travel all over the world, and eat in some of the best restaurants. .. but the food and style at this place, it better than a lot of Michelin Star, restaurants i have eaten at" astounding! really! The location is to die for, and the staff cannot do enough for you, nor the owner Martin and his family. I really must say.. this is a real gem!”

RichardoPatrick, England, Mar 24th 2010

“First class restaurant with excellent accommodation .We came here for a chilled weekend away for our anniversary and found it to be exactly that.A fabulous dining experience in a quirky and cosy setting.Room 9b was exactly as in the pics.-warm and inviting. If couples are looking for that weekend away to chill out and relax this is the place for you. The dining experience was perfect and the staff very friendly,but remember to book the restaurant when you book the accommodation to ensure your table .We will be returning to this little Gem.”

LittleBongs, Lancashire, Mar 21st 2010

“We are regular visitors to this small, quaint and quirky hotel, it has a warm, cosy, friendly, 'lived in' feel and a superb restaurant which attracts customers from miles around for their substantial menu and portions.The owners do their best to make visitors feel comfortable and well catered for, and nothing beats sitting in the bar around a roaring fire having a drink after a busy day walking, climbing or just sightseeing ...Perfect! WE WILL BE BACK AGAIN SOON THATS FOR SURE!”

SnowdonianClimber, Hertfordshire, Jan 19th 2010

“We spend 5 nights at Ty Gwyn over the New Year, having been there several times before over the same period. The food must rank with the best in the area. The staff are very attentive and helpful. There has been some makeover since our stay in 2008, but importantly the character still remains. Long may this gem continue to be a success. ”

The Roberts and Owen families, Carmarthenshire, Jan 5th 2010

“Just came back from a short break in Ty Gwyn Hotel, 3 nights for the price of 2, what a great deal ! The hotel is in a nice location in Snowdonia Park. Our 4 poster bedroom was very clean and so cosy. Has we benefit for this special winter offer, we decide to have diner at the Ty Gwyn each night. Everything was cooked to perfection from fish dishes to meat and the staff was funly, nothing was to much to ask. We definitely come back to try their xmas diner !”

Helen, Angers (France), Nov 19th 2009

“We visited the Ty Gwyn last year for a short break. We enjoyed it so much and had such a great time that we decided to visit again this year. We was very pleasantly surprised by the work that has been done to the Hotel. If you want a quiet, relaxed and romantic break in a beautiful part of the country you could do no better than the Ty Gwyn. The food in the restaurant is excellent with large portions. Just what you need after a day sight seeing. We enjoy it so much and the staff are so attentive I think we'll become regulars at the Hotel. I would highly recommend the Hotel.”

JonJF, Edinburgh, Oct 26th 2009

“Stayed in room 9b, lovely sized room that although well sized still felt cosy. Breakfast was delicious, and plenty of cereal juices in addition to the cooked breakfast. Staff were all very helpful, the only mistake made was bring a bottle of white wine to the table when we ordered red, which was resolved instantly so was not even an issue in my mind. Took our meals both nights in the restaurant, the food was superb, and the portions generous. Location was ideal as we travelled up Snowdon on the train one day, and visited Portmerion the next, both of which were within a reasonable distance from the hotel. Only downside was the car park was quite small, however there is no problem in parking on the road outside. Would definitely return!”

EdTwo0Nine, Birmingham, Sept 28th 2009

“We were looking for a spot of luxury to come back to after spending our days in the mountains. After searching the web for somewhere suitable - luxurious, but not clinical - we came across the Ty Gwyn and it did live up to our expectations - and more! It might just be our luck, but we tend to come across two types of hotel - charming, but just a little bit shabby, or immaculate, but just a little bit too 'manufactured. the Ty Gwyn seems to have got the best of both - with no buts. It feels very organic - no full scale renovations, but tastefully added furniture and features that all seem to fit together along with high quality furnishings. The food was really good. We did intend to eat out on a couple of occasions, but after a long day hiking, it all seemed like too much trouble when we knew what the quality of the meals here were like. The staff were all tremendously friendly and helpful. There may have been the odd minor rough edge where something was overlooked, but this was quickly corrected and more than made up for with their helpfulness and flexibility.”

PlaneSailor, Midlands, Sept 18th 2009

“WOW - I have just returned from a superb bank holiday weekend away at Ty Gwyn Hotel. I went with my husband and another couple. This hotel is set in just a beautiful location and the building is full of character. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel was very flexible with the items we wanted. The staff are very friendly and very knowledgeable about the activities available in the local area (High Ropes Course, Mountain Bike Hire, Rafting, Mountain walks and routes). The owners work extremely hard, as well as all the staff. Our room was comfortable (room 5) and very nicely decorated with coordinated soft furnishings. We stayed in the cheapest room, so we did not have an en-suite, however the shared bathroom was very clean (I think it was checked and cleaned every hour as I went for a shower an hour after my husband and there was no evidence that someone had just used the shower). Our bed was on the small side but this is probably because we stayed in the cheapest (smallest) room. The food was excellent and we ate in the bar for 2 out of 3 nights (they were fully booked for the other night). We ate bar meals as well as meals from the restaurant menu - very reasonably priced and lots of food. We also enjoyed the sweets and liquour coffee's. We look forward to staying in this hotel again.”

Teachers_Pet_UK, Worcestershire, Aug 31st 2009

“I stayed here at the beginning of August with two friends whilst visiting the National Eisteddfod at Bala. The hotel is an absolute delight - full of character and packed with antiques which the owners have collected and cherished over many years. The rooms were pristine with comfy beds and crisp white cotton bedlinen. We had very good breakfasts cooked to order and were fortunate enough to secure a table on both nights for the evening meal. The food was excellent with a good choice on the menu. The friendly owner and attentive staff ensured a warm welcome and a real home from home atmosphere.”

CymraesCardiff, Cardiff, Aug 11th 2009

“A charming 16th century coaching inn. We stayed two nights, on arrival found an inviting warm cosy atmosphere. Booked a meal in the bar and found it of excellent quality, enjoyed it so much ate both nights. Breakfast very good, traditional beer good too!! Staff very friendly.”

ExSouthWalesFiremen, South Wales, Aug 3rd 2009

“Booked into Ty Gwyn for a few days to celebrate our 20th anniversary, every thing was perfect we stayed in room 9b which was lovely. The food was fantastic. All in all 10 out of 10. Would recommend to any one for a quiet break.”

Mohas65, Scotland, Jun 7th 2009

“A 16th centruy coaching inn, now providing B&B and excellent restaurant, a short level walk from Betws-y-Coed. We booked 6 of their 14 rooms for a bank holiday get-together and were delighted with the location, the accommodation and in particular the evening meals. Rooms: Inevitably, with a building this old, the rooms are varied in size, giving a choice between small and cosy, four posters and suites. All were well furnished, with excellent beds and matching linens. Towels were changed daily. Basic TV and tea/coffee provision in the rooms. Free internet access is provided in the lobby, for those vital weather forecast checks. The residents' lounge was a great place to gather in the evening, before and after dinner. Food: breakfast was average quality, but a good selection of freshly cooked options and substantial portions - an ideal start for active days on the hills. Evening meals were very good, with large portions and an extensive menu which included local fish, meat and game. Reasonable wine list and well stocked bar, with draught beers and cider. It is important to book in advance for dinner, whether eating in the bar or the restaurant Staff: the staff could not have been more helpful and were friendly, without being intrusive. Any requests were dealt with promptly and efficiently and they willingly provided secure storage for our valuable bikes. Value for money: highly recommended.”

DrJools, Merseyside, May 25th 2009

“Relaxing atmosphere on arrival. Greeted by member of staff and shown to rooms (2). Staff member helped with luggage. Rooms are individually furnished to a high standard,with very comfortable beds. Extensive menu in restaurant and bar. Food is well presented and was delicious. We must compliment the chef! All staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful and seemed to work as a good team. We particularly liked the charm of this old coaching house and would certainly visit again if North Wales was on our agenda. We have no hesitation in recommending this venue and thank Martin and his team for a memorable stay.”

PooleAlan, Poole, May 16th 2009

“four of us stayed in this beautiful hotel for a long weekend. cannot fault anything from service , lovely friendly staff, excellant rooms through to the chef martin - your food is to die for. cooked to perfection and plenty of it. The atmosphere created in this charming hotel is like being at home so cosy is the bar and dining areas. Cannot wait to return we all had a superb time thanks to the hard working staff where nothing was too much trouble.”

MammaJude, Staffs, March 26th 2009

“We had a superb meal, with good friendly service, and a comfortable night in this small family run hotel. We felt it was excellent value in a good location and will recommend it to friends.”

Sigicon, Hereford, Feb 20th 2009

“We just returned from a four night stay where the idea was to have a break from the kids and London, do some walking and eat well. Ty Gwyn was the perfect choice. Friendly, helpful staff (I cannot recognise what some reviewers have said here!) and a really comfortable room meant we hardly had to do a thing to make it a really good trip. The key thing was the restaurant and for 3 of our 4 nights we were booked in. Our 3 meals were better than the one we had at the most promising looking local restaurant. The atmosphere is very calm and low-key but there is an attention to your needs. Having a drink before and after the meal in front of the Test cricket was the icing on the cake and we really liked the care and enthusiasm of the owner and his staff. We shall definitely aim to stay again - it's a perfect place to have a room in the most brilliant natural setting.”

Betand, London, Feb 19th 2009

“My husband and I have just returned from a weekend away at this fabulous hotel. We first stayed here 4 years ago and were really impressed with the charater of the hotel, the friendly staff and the delicious food. We had the chance for a weekend away and knew exactly where we wanted to go (even though we only live 30 mins drive away!). We stayed in room 9b which was superb, we ate in the bar the first night and the resturant the second night, the food was outstanding and resonably priced. All staff were friendly and curtious, we will definitely return when we have the chance - hopefully it wont be to long.”

Couple from Conwy, Feb 9th 2009

“I was looking for a small hotel in North Wales to spend few quiet days in the country side. I was lucky to find a very cheep flight from Nantes (Britany) to Liverpool. As soon as I arrived at the Ty Gwyn I felt very Welcome. The room was full of caracter and very clean, like a French " auberge ". I got tempted by the extensive menu, there is something for everyone. I ate each night, French cuisine the best in the world ? Come and try the Ty gwyn cuisine and you won't be disapointed. I still got the taste of the Welsh Lamb shoulder, big enough to feed to 2 people, but no it was only for me and believe it or not I even manage a desert, and what a desert, the tia Maria and chocolate torte! All the staff were very thoughtful and knowlegable, nothing was too much to ask. The location of the hotel is perfect, especialy if like me you like walking in the mountain and mountain biking. Excellent value for money especialy if you live in the euro zone. I am already planning my next trip to north Wales, and no doubt I will stay at the ty gwyn.”

Helen Angers (France) Sep 30, 2008

“We stayed at Ty Gwyn for two nights in the charming room 9B for our anniversary. The room was stunning and very large -the beams and the four poster bed made it one of the cutest rooms we have ever stayed in. We actually ate at the hotel three nights in a row it was so good and each time the meals seemed to get better and better. The staff were very friendly and eager to help and added to the overall impression. We will definately go back and are counting down the days!!!”

holiday_goer9, Farnham, Sep 29, 2008

“ Stayed for 1 night only on way to catch boat in Holyhead. Wished we could have stayed longer. The Hotel was really comfortable and olde worlde but this was part of the charm. The food in the restaurant was excellent - one of the best meals we have ever eaten. Will definitely return for longer stay. ”

Hugh Diarmaid Lisburn, Ireland, Sep 23, 2008

“ WE stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. We had our Australian cousoins with us and we all agreed that we had a wonderful experience. The Aussies were very impressed with the rooms which were very comfortable and clean. We were able to book two of the en-suite rooms. The food in the restaurant was outstanding. We ate there for all three nights. The menu is very comprehensive. The specials board was longer than some restaurants' menus! Also the ambience is second to none. The hotel was an old coaching inn and much of the structure remains as it must have been centuries ago. The place is all white walls and wooden beams. It is crammed with pictures, china, artifacts etc. We had no complaints at all, not with the hotel and certainly not with the staff who were most accommodating. We would recommend anyone to stay and in fact have already done so.”

Mrs Owls, Essex, Sep 23, 2008

“ Last minute booking for a weekend away, and we weren't disappointed. A little reluctant at first, as we couldn't get a room with an en-suite, but we took the plunge for Ty Gwyn, and hoped cleanliness wouldn't be a problem. It certainly wasn't. Food, beer and wine ; excellent. Full marks to staff for this, the cleanliness and service. The hotel is quaint, and full of character, so you expected a few oddities ( uneven floors, tight corners ). The room we stayed in was a bit on the small side ( we did book very late ), but clean and tidy. Value for money is excellent. The ultimate test : would I stay again ? Already booked, and contemplating having my 50th birthday bash there ! ”

Charles Bailey, Crickhowell, Sep 7, 2008

“ saw it on internet and thought it looked nice. we stayed for 3 nights and were not disappointed. the building was beautiful ,the staff friendly and helpful and the food, both at breakfast and in the evening was fabulous and served in lovely surroundings. we will definitely be returning.john and pearl stockport. ”

Johnnyluv, Manchester, Sep 2, 2008

“ Recently stayed in Betws--coed for three nights (18 July - 21 July). We did not stay at Ty Gwyn but ate at this establishment on two of the three nights. The food was absolutely historic and I cannot recommend it enough. For my next trip in October 2008 we intend to stay there as well. Congratulations for two memorable meals. ”

S Dugster, Bournemouth, United Kingdom, Aug 4, 2008

“ After our first visit to the Ty Gwyn Hotel we thought it couldn't get any better but happily we were proved wrong. The hotel has recently had a complete refurbishment and the rooms are now even more luxurious. Ours even had a jacuzzi! One great improvement is the decking to the rear of the hotel where you can sit in the sun and enjoy a glass of wine or two after a day sight seeing. The food as ever was excellent, tasty and large portions. I recommend that you book the restaurant when you make your reservation as the restaurant gets very busy. Not surprising as it's mentioned in the the good food guides. The staff are always pleasant and will put themselves out to ensure that your stay is memorable. I'm looking forward to our next visit and highly recommend this hotel to anyone who's visiting the area. ”

Jon J F, Scotland, Jul 28, 2008

“ A beautiful old coaching inn that has been updated sympathetically. The accommodation more than met our requirements for the price we paid (we stayed in room 9a). Fantastic restaurant with made to order breakfasts - which are just amazing and kept us going all the way up Mount Snowdon!! The dinner menu was equally of a high standard. The decking area to the rear, gives spectacular views. Staff extremely friendly and accommodating. Highly recommended. ”

Vanessa Elliott, Reading, May 13, 2008

“ There is so much to say about this hotel, the atmosphere is friendly, easy going and welcoming. The bedrooms are comfortable and well equiped with excellent en-suite facilities, our room 9B had a spa bath and shower with its own boiler, so constant hot water. There is so much to choose from on the menu and special board, the 1st night I had lobster, extremely good. I would definately recommend the Ty Gwyn all credit to Martin, Nicola and all the staff. ”

Wendy, Mar 17, 2008

“ Booked a 4 night stay at Ty Gwyn which more than lived up to the billing. A hotel of genuine charm. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful .Even on the Wednesday evening when the restaurant was much busier than anyone had anticipated the level of service was excellent. The meals were always adventurous, excellently cooked and plentiful - we ate there every evening! The bedroom was warm and cosy. The Ty Gwyn as well as being an excellent base for walking and sightseeing in North Wales is a reason in itself to return to Betws-y-Coed. We shall return”

Denise & Steve, Lancashire, Mar 16, 2008

“ Quite frankly I dont think I've come across a more friendly and atmospheric hotel such as the Ty Gwyn before. From the initial booking, to the welcome and the departure I received nothing but courtesy and excellent service from everyone. The room was very comfortable which is needed after completing Snowdon in the fog and rain, the water was plentiful and piping hot, again much needed and as for the meals, well, the quality was outstanding. All the waiting staff have a smile on their face and were happy to discuss the menu. Basically my experience there was so good I am returning in April for another three nights. A lovely place to stay and without sounding like a brochure, use the Ty Gwyn to explore this wonderful part of Wales. ”

Cribba, Truro, Cornwall, Mar 11, 2008

“ From arrival to departure we enjoyed this wonderful retreat. Very friendly staff, excellent service, fabulous room with four-poster and jacuzzi, superb restaurant, well-stocked bar. The breakfast was delicious with fresh juices, fruit, cereals and substantial fry. The staff have extensive knowledge on the area offering useful advice. Overall good value for money and definitely to be repeated. ”

itstheprices, Herts, Feb 19, 2008

“ I think of accomodation as a place to rest your head after a busy day of walking or sightseeing--so while we don't necessarily require a ton of amenities, it is important that the places we stay are comfortable and clean. Ty Gwyn more than met our expectations. The room was large and comfortable, very homey. Ty Gwyn was close to town and various walks, both long and short. The service was excellent- The food was also fantastic. We decided to eat there for dinner, and i think it was one of the better meals we have had since coming to the UK. The breakfast (included in the price of the room) was also well-prepared--not too greasy. I am a vegetarian, and had several options available to me. The room was close to the road, but we hardly noticed as we were so tired. We slept comfortably. We had reserved an ensuite room, and the facilites were more than adequate. We would definitely stay here again. “

travel1212Reading, Reading, Jan 6, 2008

“My husband and myself had a 4 day break at this hotel. It was extremely comfortable with a cosy bar and restaurant. Lots of copper jugs, pots and china galore arranged on dressers and in the bedrooms. We had a beam in ours and the room was very pretty in dark pink and green colour scheme. It was very easy to reach other places such as Portmeirion and Llandudno, and of cousre the actual vllage was 5 minute walk away. Excellent choice of food for Breakfast and Dinner. Will definately return.”

Heliona, Oxford, England Feb 26, 2007

“My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at this lovelly old coaching house for 2 nights DB&B, and our stay was wonderful. Situated in the beautiful village of Betws-y-Coed, this hostelry has to be experienced to be truly valued.It's lovelly cozy interior is greatly enhanced by, REAL log fires which only add to the warmth of the owner Martin and his very helpful staff. The food is all fresh, ( no quick cook frozen stuff here) and is prepared and served not only looking good, but proved to be a real taste sensation thanks to the great talent of an excellent chef, the wine list is extremely good with quality wines at reasonable prices. We highly reccommend this hotel,and pass on our thanks to the staff.”

Mike & Brenda Culleton, Merseyside, Jan 28, 2007

“Six of our family celebrated New Years at Ty Gwyn for the third successive year, once again a brilliant time was had by all. The staff are warm and friendly, the bar is welcoming and cosy. The food is exceptional and great breakfasts were enjoyed by all. It's by far the best hotel in Betws. We'll be booking again for 2007!”

penybryn, carmarthenshire, West Wales, Jan 3, 2007

“So lovely, 2 visits in 2 months. Food exceptional value and choice, seamless service and relaxing and cosy bar. Comfortable & clean rooms with character. Friendly staff. Can't wait to return.”

Anita & Clive Applebee, Malvern Oct 10, 2006

“We have stayed here 3 times before and will keep coming back. We have searched everywhere for this type of Coaching Inn that is just full of character but the Ty Gwyn is, so far, the only place that we have found that we like . Everything is superb from the food right through to the ambience of the place. Highly recommended. We can't wait to come back. Thank you.”

badgeming, Cambs Oct 2, 2006

“We stayed for two nights in mid September. We totally loved the place. Its cosy, warm, full of atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff and excellent food. You won't go hungry!! It is situated on a busy road, but once inside you'd never think so. We are definitely marking this hotel for a return visit and have no problems recommending the spot to others.”

twofolks, Ireland Sep 13, 2006

“A TRADITIONAL coaching inn full of original character, great food,and hospitality. My husband, daughter and myself stayed last week for three nights it was brilliant, we were in room 9a, four poster with brand new shower room, the whole room must have been done recently, admittedly not a great view up the mountainside but still very pleasant, it was immaculate. As for the food, best i've had anywhere, just unbelievable, George keeps going on about the smoked prawns with crab. Service friendly and pleasant, Betws-y-coed is so beautiful with spectacular views everywhere you turn, do the fairy glen walk, it a must. Great outdoor shop.”

effilctar, Warrington Sep 7, 2006

“If you like traditional coaching inns then this is one to try. Don't go there if you are one for the antiseptic modern hotel. This place has stacks of character, good food and a gentle ambiance. A proliferation of ornaments around the hotel, but particularly in the bar, lends to the homely atmosphere and provides something to look at and discuss as you imbibe the fine ale available. Situated just on the edge of Betws it is less than a gentle two hour drive from Liverpool airport. It is ideally located to allow spectacular drives to the areas attractions i.e Ffestiniog, Portmieirion, Capel Curig, Snowdon and Caernarfon to name but a few. I will certainly visit again if I get the chance.”

Straid, Ballyclare, Co Antrim Dec 2, 2005

“Clean and comfortable.It was too late to order food when I arrived but menu looked good. Breakfast was tasty and hot. Overall Friendly staff, clean and comfortable, good food and a reasonable price.Beautiful surroundings.”

Craig, Kendal UK 5/5/06